WEBMAIL    |    Intranet    |    Site Map



Dumitru Prunariu, re-elected president of the Association of Space Explorers

on 12 June 2014

The honorary President of the Romanian Space Agency (ROSA), Dumitru-Dorin Prunariu, was re-elected for another three years president of the European branch of the Association of Space Explorers — ASE Europe, during the 2014 European astronaut reunion. The event took place between 7-9 June, in Munich, Germany.

Dumitru Prunariu was born on September 27, 1952 in Brasov, and on 14 May 1981 he became the first and only Romanian who has ever flown in space. The cosmonaut is also among the founding members of the Association of Space Explorers — ASE, established in 1985 by 25 cosmonauts from 13 countries. His first term as president of the organisation began in 2011 and obtained satisfactory results, which explain him maintaining now the function for another 3 years.

The Association of Space Explorers annually holds planetary congresses in different countries and has, among other things, working groups for studying the safety of manned space flights and for studying natural cosmic objects approaching Earth, which can collide with it, such as asteroids or meteorites.
Currently, the organisation has as members more than 350 astronauts and cosmonauts from 37 countries and it is the only professional, international, nongovernmental organisation with educational purposes and serving as a professional forum, dedicated to those who have completed at least one full Earth revolution on a spacecraft.

Image credit: ASE. From left, top row: Bertalan Farkas (HU), Ulrich Walter (DE), Helen Sharman (UK), Michel Tognini (FR), Dumitru-Dorin Prunariu (RO), Ulf Merbold (DE), Reihold Ewald (DE). Bottom row: Alexandr Alexandrov (BG), Andre Kuipers (NL), Pedro Duque (ES), Ernst Messerschmid (DE).