WEBMAIL    |    Intranet    |    Site Map



The Association of Space Explorers (ASE) - Europe

on 13 October 2010

The XXIII Planetary Congress of the Association of Space Explorers (ASE) took place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, between 5-10 of October, 2010.

ASE established a new body, ASE-Europe Board of Directors. Romanian Cosmonaut Dumitru Dorin Prunariu was unanimously elected president (pro-tempore).

Members: Gheorghi Ivanov (Bulgaria), Walter Ulrich (Germany), Bertalan Farkas (Hungary), Claude Nicollier (Switzerland), Dumitru-Dorin Prunariu (Romania), Rainhold Ewald (Germany), Dirk Frimout (Belgium), Klaus-Dietrich Flade (Germany), Miroslaw Hermaszewki (Poland), Franz Viehbock (Austria), Gerhard Thiele (Germany), Aleksandr Aleksandrov (Bulgaria)

The Association of Space Explorers (ASE) is an international nonprofit professional and educational organization of over 350 individuals from 35 nations who have flown in space. Founded in 1985, ASE's mission is to provide a forum for professional dialogue among individuals who have flown in space, support space science and exploration for the benefit of all, promote education in science and engineering, foster greater environmental awareness, and encourage international cooperation in the human exploration of space.

Romania organized the XV Congress of hte Association of Space Explorers in Bucharest, October 4-9. Twenty-five astronauts and cosmonauts from eleven countries gathered in Bucharest, Romania, October 4-9 for the 15th Annual Planetary Congress of the Association of Space Explorers. Hosted by Romanian cosmonaut Dumitru Prunariu, the theme of the 15th Congress was Space and Astronomy–Toward the New Millennium. For more information about this event please follow this link.